Let me introduce myself to you. I am Amelia, a Spanish girl who is improving her English here in New Zealand. I have been in Wellington for 4 months. I studied Journalism in Spain and I worked in the communications area for nearly 5 years. I decided to move on to the “other side” of the world. Now this experience is becoming one of the most extraordinary and unforgettable that I have ever had.

When you are new in a city or in a foreign country where people speak a language which is not yours, everything seems overwhelming. Sometimes, you also think “what am I doing here? I think I look forward to returning to my home…..” But it only happened to me for a minute… Wellington didn’t make me feeling in that way. From the beginning, even with the obstacle of the language, I felt like in my own home, I felt very comfortable.

My flatmate advised to me to join a volunteer programme. Why? …. Well… Why not? It is an amazing and proactive way to increase your networking. In my case, and in the situations of many new “Wellingtonians” from overseas, it’s a fantastic approach to meet new people.

I thought “If I would like to live here, I need to find out lifestyle, customs and problems of New Zealander society”. You cannot love or dislike a city, a country or a place, if you are not familiar with it in every way.

The role of a volunteer is helpful in two ways. As well as helping the community, the community is also going to help you. It is a reciprocal thing. You are going to do productive things for society, and at the same time you are going to feel better.

As well, you can choose what you prefer to do. Pauline, the manager of Volunteer Wellington, offered me the role of the Blogger due to my background in Journalism. So it is great to be able to decide what you prefer to do, or what skill you prefer to improve.

Definitely there are no reasons to not join a volunteer programme. Don’t lose your chance to make bigger your networking and at the same time your will have feelings that you are doing something useful and helpful.

To make contact with Volunteer Wellington ring 04 4994572; or to find out about any other volunteer centre in New Zealand go to the Volunteering New Zealand website, www.volunteeringnz.org.nz

Amelia Martinez-Lobo

About Volunteer Wellington

Volunteer Wellington | Te Puna Tautoko is the champion of volunteering in New Zealand Aotearoa!

2 responses »

  1. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some help
    from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

  2. Hi there…. a great place to start is wordpress.com. Goodluck!

Leave a Reply

