An extract from a story written about former Volunteer Connect Award recipient, Revati Nanote from India is revealing.

When Revati, a statistician and software developer, came with her family to Wellington she found the New Zealand accent difficult to understand and, as a result says ‘I became too closed and always afraid of misunderstandings and misinterpretations. The more hesitant I became the more my confidence disappeared. She came to Volunteer Wellington and took on a role which involved a statistics project.

‘I was able to work freely and I was able to use my skills. I felt very much satisfied. I was useful and getting appreciated… I am now comfortable with the people of New Zealand. ‘ After her move into volunteering Revati’s changed outlook was noticed immediately by her young son. ‘”Why are you so happy today,’ he said. ‘Have you bought a new dress or something?” ‘I told him I am happy because I have interesting, useful work to do. I feel connected with people.’

Revati has since moved into full-time paid employment. She keeps in touch with the community sector through Volunteer Wellington. To find an interesting volunteer role ring Volunteer Wellington on 499 4570 to make an appointment for a talk with one of their interviewers.

About Volunteer Wellington

Volunteer Wellington | Te Puna Tautoko is the champion of volunteering in New Zealand Aotearoa!

Leave a Reply

